Ruggin…

I have been working on this rug thing on and off for months now. To be fair, I haven`t been “faithful” to it, and only putting in the odd half hour here and there.

Anyway, I really sank a few hours into it today, and boy, do my hands ache.

So, heres the dealio- really simple. I don`t throw any scrap fabric away, it gets added to a simple 3 strand braid, then it goes round and round and gets stitched into a spiral. the spiral is getting rather big now, and I have had to tack it to an old wooly blanket to keep it flat, and that hasn`t worked- so I have now tack stitched some pieces of cardboard to the back of it. Not great, but so far it has worked.

Rug of Dooooooom!

I know it may not be pretty- hell, its virtually a Franken-rug, but I love the fact that it is made entirely from scrap and rubbish. It has however claimed blood from my very hands this eavning- and it hurts to type.

I hope this inspires some of you guys to have a crack at doing something with your scraps. I would love to know what you come up with!

And now, I am off to nurse my poorly pinkies, and watch “The Wedding Singer” 🙂

Good night crafty troops!

~ by Zoe on August 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
